I replaced the batteries in my scale. They were the original batteries from when I bought the thing, which had to be 2-3 years ago. Didn't seem to make much of a difference. I still got an 8-pound variation this morning. GRRRRRRR!! Guess the solution will have to be buying a better-quality scale. And until then (because I can't bring myself to spend more than $20 on a scale yet) I'll have to take this as a sign to not obsess about the numbers on that dang scale. I'll have to take my own advice and use it as a tool, not a guide. Or something like that. It's the overall trend that matters, not the daily readings. And if I take what I get on the scale at work, and keep an eye on the numbers that I get here at home, I have an idea where I'm at, number-wise. Which will have to be good enough.
But one of the real reasons I'm a little freaking out about it right now is because I'm almost under 200 pounds. Again. The very first time in my life that I weighed more than 200 pounds was the day I went to the hospital at 39 weeks pregnant to give birth to my nearly-9-pound baby boy. I weighed 202 pounds that day and was mortified at that. I've been over 200 for quite a while now (except for the last time I did this lifestyle weight loss plan) and am mortified at that, too. So to be under 200 again is a huge milestone for me. And this time, I AM NOT GOING BACK!!! I fully intend to stay in "onederland"!! So, yeah. I'm less than 10 pounds away from onederland. I'm gonna be there soon.
I've been thinking ahead, a little too far ahead yet, but thinking ahead to my goal weight and how I'm going to change once I get there and get off of this strict part of the plan. First of all, I don't know what my goal weight is. Have I mentioned that here yet? Hold on, I'm gonna go check...
OK, looks like I haven't. So here's the thing: I don't have a number picked out for my goal weight. I mean, I know what I weighed at my lowest as an adult, but that was when I was like 18, and according to the BMI charts now, it's borderline underweight. I know what range I need to be in to be in the "healthy" BMI range per that same chart and per my MD's recommendations. So, I guess that range is my goal. The lower end of that range. Which is about 20 pounds more than what I weighed in high school. Which means I have another 60-70 pounds to go. Which sounds like a shit-ton when I put it that way.
This is probably why I shouldn't obsess about numbers. Ha. Ha. So, I won't.
I'll look at the upside. The last time I did this, I lost 62 pounds and it was, honestly, really easy. My goal this time is apparently to lose 60-70. I just have to do what I did last time! And I'm already ahead of myself there because I'm starting lower :) and because last time, I was having a really hard time staying on plan on the weekends, and this time I'm not having that issue!
As far as how to eat once I'm done doing this eat-five-prepackaged-foods-per-day plan... I need to have a good plan in place for that, too, or I'm going to mess it all up again once I'm done. I can't even fathom eating "normally" again right now. Maybe I'll just be a picky eater for the rest of my life. Maybe I'll be one of those people who doesn't really do sweets -- one of those people who just has like a bite or two and that's it. That would be awesome! I could totally do that. If I could learn to not be a comfort eater, that would help so much!!
Alright, my time here is up, I have to get back to work. TTFN
No comments:
Post a Comment