SW: 226.2 (on 1/19/2021) , BMI (per this link): 37.6 - Obesity Class 2 (35 to 39.99)
CW: 213.0, BMI: 35.4 - still Obesity Class 2
GW: ???, BMI: healthy (18.5 to 24.99)
TOTAL LOST: 13.2 pounds
Let's talk about the scale and my love-hate thing I have going on with it, shall we? Because the first week on this program, I was so pissed off. That's why I stopped posting after day 3. The scale was barely moving. I remember (or at least I thought I remembered -- I do have the numbers saved in MyFitnessPal, I should go back and look) the first time I did this, the first weeks or so I was losing like 0.4 or 0.5 pounds per day consistently. That wasn't really happening at first this time around, but I trusted the process and kept going.
I will admit that I weigh myself too much. In the morning and at night. I know about how much more I usually weigh at night so I use that to guesstimate whether I've gained or lost during the day, which is totally insane and worthless and inaccurate. I stopped weighing myself at night a few days ago for that reason.
Another thing pissing me off is the inaccuracy of my scale. "That's what you get when you buy the cheapest scale at Wal-Mart," says my ever-so-helpful hubby when I vented to him about this same issue. Because one morning I weighed myself and it said I gained 5 pounds. Then a few minutes later, it said I had lost 2. But the damage had been done -- once I saw that it said I had gained 5, something inside me died -- I'm serious! I used to get this feeling of super-happy excitement when the number on the scale would be lower than it had been the day before. It would just totally make my day, and I'd be on cloud 9 and feeling on top of the world. But ever since that day, nope. I don't trust it. That same day, I summoned up the courage to ask my hubby for his honest opinion -- which was the lie? Did I gain 5 pounds or lose 2? He didn't give me the answer I was afraid he'd give me -- oh, no, it was much worse than that. It was the 'you shouldn't let a number on a scale define you' blah blah blah.
I know. I KNOW!! But here's the thing: this program requires a solid commitment. If it's already not working, I need to know so I can figure out Plan B. Because this program WAS my Plan B. This was my "if all else fails". If this ain't doing it, I need to know NOW before I spend any more time and money on it.
So here's the other thing: despite what the scale said that morning when all of the wind got sucked out of my sails, my clothes are fitting better. The one pair of pants that I have been wearing to work (because they were the only ones that still fit) have been looser, and tomorrow when I go to the office again I think I'm going to try a different pair. My tummy's not as bloated. I'm seeing small differences that I'm relatively sure aren't all in my head. There are more wrinkles on my face and fewer rolls on my neck. And, against my better judgement, I weighed myself on the scale at work -- the scale that has always been 8 pounds heavier than my scale at home.
And? It was 8 pounds heavier than the lowest reading I got at home that day. :D :D
So another gripe about my scale, as I mentioned about -- it is horribly inconsistent. And it has been for a while. I've tried moving it to different spots on the floor, figuring that maybe our uneven floors had something to do with that. Of course, I follow the golden rule of weighing myself at the same time (or close to it) every day wearing the same clothes (or lack thereof). And my hubby was close but not quite -- it wasn't the cheapest scale at Wal-Mart, but it wasn't the most expensive, either. It was in the $20 range. Closer to $20 than $30. Like $19.99 or somesuch. ANYWAY...
So now I have this stupid routine. I've actually had a very similar stupid routine before. Majority rules. The exact rules are something like, if I weigh myself twice and get the exact same value both times, and the number makes sense based on what I weighed the previous day (knowing that I typically lose 0.2 - 0.5 pounds per day on this program but can lose more), that's my number for the day and I'm not going to step on that scale anymore at all that day. If I get different numbers both times, I weigh myself again until I get two numbers that match and make sense. If I don't get two numbers that match but are close (like within 0.2 or so) I'll go with the larger of the two numbers as my weight for the day. It sounds like more work than it really is.
It kind of feels like cheating to get the numbers to work in my favor, but it's usually the other way around -- for instance, this morning when I first stepped on the scale, it said 208-point-something. HA, I wish!! Knowing it was 213-point-something yesterday, I was like, hmmmmm, I don't think so. So I stepped on again: 212.8. More realistic since it's closer to yesterday's total, but I have to go with majority rules, so I stepped on one more time: 213.0.
NO, I don't have OCD tendencies, I don't know what you're talking about...
Perhaps someday soon I should buy a better scale. Or perhaps this is a good way to remind me that it is NOT all about the number on the scale, it is about so much more.
I kind of miss that super-happy feeling I would get when the number on the scale went down. Don't get me wrong, I'm still happy that the numbers are trending downward! And I am much more confident this week because they are moving downward much more quickly than they were last week.
And it's about so much more than the numbers on the scale. But the numbers on the scale are a way to measure progress. So I have to keep using them.
On that note, break's over and I have to get back to work. Toodles!
No comments:
Post a Comment